Saturday, June 20, 2009

Father's Day Book Recommendations - Part 3

Here's another round of Books for Dad!

*****  *****  *****

A brilliant new novel about fathers and sons and the dangers of modern life by “one of the most literary of America’s crime writers” (Associated Press) is The Way Home by George Pelecanos.

Christopher Flynn is trying to get it right. After years of trouble and rebellion that enraged his father and nearly cost him his life, he has a steady job in his father's company, he's seriously dating a woman he respects, and, aside from the distrust that lingers in his father's eyes, his mistakes are firmly in the past. ... more

*****  *****  *****

An Honorable German by Charles McCain : In the tradition of Das Boot and The Hunt for Red October comes a sweeping saga of World War II, featuring a heroic and conflicted German U-Boat commander.

When World War II begins, Max Brekendorf, a proud young German naval officer, fights for his country with honor and courage. With the unstoppable German war machine overrunning Europe, Max looks ahead to a bright future with his fiancée, Mareth. But as the war progresses, their future together becomes less and less certain. German victories begin to fade. In the North Atlantic, Max must face the increasing strength of the Allies on ever more harrowing missions. Berlin itself is savaged by bombing, making life for Mareth increasingly dangerous and desperate. And as the Third Reich steadily crumbles, Nazi loyalists begin to infiltrate Max's crew and turn their terror on Germany's own armed forces. Recognizing what his nation has become, Max is forced to make a choice between his own sense of morality, and his duty to the Reich.

With its stirring, rarely seen glimpse of the German home front during WWII, vivid characters, and evocation of the drama and terror of war at sea, An Honorable German is a suspense-filled story of adventure, of love and loss, and of honor and redemption.

*****  *****  *****
Kevin Alan Milne, author of The Paper Bag Christmas, shares a touching story about love, fatherhood, and second chances in his new book, The Nine Lessons: A Novel of Love, Fatherhood, and Second Chances.

August Witte is firmly against having children. But after seven years of marriage, his wife is delighted when she realizes she is unexpectedly pregnant. August is terrified, recognizing he never learned the first thing about being a good parent from his father London. A widower since August was a toddler, London has always valued the game of golf--a sport August has never had any talent for--more than his son.

In spite of how he hates the game, when August confronts his father, he finds himself agreeing to meet each month of the pregnancy for a round of golf. In exchange, London will give him the only thing that could make August agree to pick up a club again--memories of his mother, which he has written on golf scorecards since the day he met her. But August quickly realizes that his father's motive is not to teach him about golf, but to teach him about life--and he may discover that the old man just might know something about it worth sharing.

*****  *****  *****
If you like this post, then please consider subscribing to my Full Feed RSS.
You can also Subscribe by Email and have new posts sent directly to your inbox.

1 comment :

  1. Heidi Cortez is autographing her book Heidi's Bedtime Stories at no additonal cost :)