Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Book Review - Poisoned Profits


PhotobucketPoisoned Profits: The Toxic Assault on Our Children
Author: Philip and Alice Shabecoff
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Random House

In this shocking and sobering book, two fearless journalists directly and definitively link industrial toxins to the current rise in childhood disease and death. In the tradition of Silent Spring, Poisoned Profits is a landmark investigation, an eye-opening account of a country that prizes money over children’s health.

If you read one book this year, then make it this one.

I do not say this just as a parent, but as a human being whose world is being polluted around her beyond belief! Frankly speaking, reading this book was like having all my personal nightmares as a parent come true. This is the reason why I buy organic food even though it's expensive, try natural remedies and struggle to live as "green" a lifestyle as possible in today's economy.

The authors are 2 journalists who've not only uncovered the link between toxic pollution and diseases rampant in society today, but which also particularly affects children, our future, to whom we're bequeathing this poisoned planet. The book not only covers actual incidents, but gives voice to viewpoints on either side of the argument. Like they say, one man's meat is another man's poison, sometimes literally!

Lest you think the book is all doom and gloom, it is NOT! No, the writers spend most of the book making their point, but end it with a ray of hope. Now that people are waking up to the wrongdoing around them, that very awareness is the start of a new beginning. The more we know, the better we're able to fight and try to right a terrible wrong. Greener is the way to the future, a better one than what's currently in store for generations to come.
______________________________________________________________________
If you like this post, then please consider subscribing to my Full Feed RSS.
You can also Subscribe by Email and have new posts sent directly to your inbox.

4 comments :

  1. Reading a book like this inspires me to take action! Don't forget the long-term effects as well. Sick children grow up (if they're lucky) to be sick adults. I have 8 grandchildren and if I win this book, it will be passed on to their parents as well! Thank you for bringing this book to my attention.

    hrbeck_98 (at) yahoo (dot) com

    ReplyDelete
  2. What a wonderful book and a great gift for friends with children. Thank you for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  3. herblady, there is no giveaway associated with this book. Thanks for your comment though.

    And thanks, Debi!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yes, I realized that after I wrote it but it didn't make me any less eager to read this book. It's a very important matter and I wish everyone with kids could read it!

    ReplyDelete